Who Makes it Happen?

It takes a lot of ideas, creativity, talent and resources to program a 24-hour TV Channel for 365 days a year. Our TV “producers” are spread throughout the six CRC college and university campuses. Our program creators include students, faculty and staff leaders, such as:

Saint Augustine’s University: Public Affairs, WAUG-TV, students in the Film and Journalism and Mass Communications departments, faculty and administrators

William Peace University: the Public Affairs Department, the Performing Arts Department, and students in mass communications

NC State University: Hugh Shelton Leadership Program, Communications Services, the NC Language and Life Program, Wolfpack Athletics, the Emerging Issues Forum, Wolfpack TV, African-American Cultural Center, College of Engineering,

Meredith College: Media Services, leaders of the college’s lecture series, art and photography students of Jane Terry, Marketing and Public Affairs

Shaw University: Office of Public Affairs, Department of Communications and the Divinity School

Wake Technical Community College: Office of Communications and Public Relations

Wake County Government: Wake County public affairs

In addition to our CRC producers, some of our programming comes from national education resources, such as PegMedia and the Annenberg Foundation.

CRC Campus Leaders Involved in Production

Shaw University: Cassandra Mitchell

Saint Augustine’s University: Eric Curry

William Peace University: Ian Dunne

Meredith College: Brian Thornburg.

Wake Tech Community College: Laurie Clowers

CRC Office: Channel Coordinator, Kristin Kauffman

Raleigh Television Network (RTN): Karyn Thomas Carlos Bonillo

Funding for the channel comes from the City of Raleigh, each of the CRC institutions, the University of North Carolina General Administration and the North Carolina Department of Revenue (NC DOR). Thank you to Wake County for being the certifying agent for access to the funding from the NC DOR.

A special thank-you to the technical advisers and facilitators at Raleigh Television Network. We also want to thank the folks in Distance Education and Learning Technology Applications (DELTA) at NC State University who were for many years a key to our operations: thanks to Tom Miller, Lou Harrison, Peter Watson, Bob Pence, Brian Dyer, and Bob Klein.

Raleigh’s Other Public Access Channels

The Raleigh Television Network (RTN) is available to Raleigh and Wake County residents with Time Warner Cable.

  • RTN 10
    This channel is Raleigh’s mirror on itself. Programming is produced by Raleigh citizens producers.
  • RTN 11
    This shows your local governments in action and in detail. The lineup includes meetings of the Raleigh City Council, the Wake County Board of Commissioners, the Wake County School Board, the City of Raleigh Planning Commission, and the Raleigh Citizens Advisory Council.
  • RTN 22
    This is Raleigh’s information and inspirational channel.

Learn more about these channels

Have an idea for a program? Email us at crc@meredith.edu

Chapel Hill Web Design by Sprocket House