Committee Members

Michael PenryChief of PoliceWake Technical Community Collegemapenry@waketech.edu
Charles Simpson Chief Director of Public Safety and SecuritySaint Augustine’s Universityclsimpson@st-aug.edu
Al WhiteChief of PoliceMeredith Collegeawhite@meredith.edu
Mark UtleyAssistant Chief of PoliceMeredith Collegesmutley@meredith.edu
Wayne JoinerChief of PoliceShaw Universitywjoiner@shawu.edu
Michael WestChief Operations OfficerShaw Universitymichael.west@shawu.edu
John CranhamAssistant VP for Building and GroundsWilliam Peace Universityjbcranham@peace.edu
Michael JohnDirector of Public SafetyWilliam Peace UniversityMajohn@peace.edu
NC State emergency Management CenterNC State Universityncstateemmc@ncsu.edu

Cyber Security Table Top Workshop on June 24, 2019

Overview:
The Cyber Security workshop on June 24, 2019 at Meredith College had participants take part in a scenario-based cyber security exercise that highlighted strategic business decision points and corresponding technical concerns that should be considered when responding to a significant cybersecurity incident. Participants were engaged in a scripted 4-hour functional/hybrid exercise that included injects and scenarios led by an Exercise Facilitator.

Exercise objectives:
1. Assess ability of the training audience to detect and properly react to hostile activity during the exercise.
2. Assess the organization’s capability to determine operational impacts of cyber-attacks and implement proper recovery procedures for the exercise.
3. Expose and correct weaknesses in cyber security systems and cyber operations policies and procedures.
4. Determine what enhancements or capabilities are needed to protect an information system and provide for operations in a hostile environment.
5. Enhance cyber awareness, readiness, and coordination.
6. Discuss cyber insurance from a market professional’s perspective, including likely gaps in coverage.