2020 Workshop Details

2019/2020 Committee Members:

Beth Hwang Assistant Director of StrongPointsMeredith Collegebnhwang@meredith.edu
Sarah KiblerAssistant ProvostMeredith Collegesakibler@meredith.edu
Pamela DavisDirector of Human ResourcesMeredith Collegedavispam@meredith.edu
Anne WhiteOrganizational Development ConsultantNC State Universityanwhite@ncsu.edu
Ann BrownDirector of Student ActivitiesSaint Augustine’s UniversityABrown@st-aug.edu
Katy MerrissExecutive Administrative AssistantShaw Universitykmerriss@bears.shawu.edu
Jessica CraigStaff Professional Development CoordinatorWake Technical Community Collegejacraig@waketech.edu
Shemika BellDirector of Staff Professional DevelopmentWake Technical Community Collegeslbell@waketech.edu
Kayla BeaversAssistant Director of Human ResourcesWilliam Peace Universitykabeavers@peace.edu

2019 Staff Professional Development Workshop at Shaw University

Shaw University was the host for the third staff professional development workshop that took place on July 18, 2019. Some 130 people were at the event, and one of their strongest responses was how much they like getting a chance to visit the other campuses in Wake County. The first workshop was at NC State and the second at Wake Tech. The committee will work on going to another campus next summer. This workshop also stressed ways to network with attendees.
This year’s event had 21 breakout sessions (see the schedule link on this page), and a panel at the end of the event. Again, the emphasis was on helping people fairly new to higher education positions learn about key issues and how to become even more involved. Among the sessions were ones on understanding your personal and professional purpose, microaggression, business etiquette in the workplace, difficult conversations, and supporting academically at risk students.

Panelists who shared their experiences as higher education staff members were Nakia Anderson (Saint Augustine’s, Makeba Jackson (NC State), Anna Clay McAdams (Wake Tech), Katie Nagel (Meredith), Alesheia Baccous (Shaw) and Michelle Hemmer (William Peace)